The fifth tab on the Administrator View is the Accounts tab. This is where administrators can create or delete user accounts, assign account permissions, and sync with G Suite. (More integrations coming soon)
Accounts can be of two types:
An account can be assigned to one or more of the following groups (with the exception of assistants):
You can view and manage all accounts in SmartPass by selecting the gray arrow icon to the right of the add button. This will display a list of all the accounts and which groups they are a part of.
Clicking on an account will display it's profile. At a glance, you can see their name, email/username, sign-in status, last-sign in, and other relavant information.
Accounts can be added in two ways:
Manually adding an account is simple:
G Suite syncing is explained below.
Deleting an account will permanently erase all data. Only use this if you never want the user to be able to sign in again. You can also temporarily disable an account. See below for instructions.
There are 4 group types in SmartPass. You can add and remove accounts from these groups to change what users have access to.
An administrator has a high-level look at the school, views/generates reports, configures passes, and manages accounts and profiles. Principals, Vice Principals, and Assistant Principals are examples of positions that would have an administrator profile.
A teacher has a room or multiple rooms where students can create passes to. A teacher can manage passes in his/her room and create passes. Teachers, counselors, nurses, librarians, and aids are examples of positions that would have a teacher profile.
A student can create passes, schedule passes for the future, and send pass requests to teachers.
An assistant acts on behalf of certain teacher when they sign in. They can manage passes in his/her room and create passes as that teacher. Assistants, secretaries, and substitute teachers are examples of positions that would be part of the assistant group.
Accounts can be a part of multiple groups. Currently only administrators can also be teachers and vice-versa.
Disabling sign in temporarily prevents that user from being able to sign in with the current user group. For example, maybe a misbehaving student has lost their hallway priveledges and you want to disable their sign in.
Removing an account won't permanently delete that accounts data. For example, removing an account from the teacher group won't delete all passes that the teacher created. It will although disable that account from being able to sign in as a teacher.
Every group except students has its own set of permissions that are specific to each account.
It's easy to change what permissions every account has:
You can also bulk edit permissions for multiple accounts:
This section is under construction...
Last updated on
July 30, 2019